README: add section on Privacy
authorJoseph Nuthalapati <njoseph@riseup.net>
Sat, 16 May 2020 11:18:14 +0000 (16:48 +0530)
committerJoseph Nuthalapati <njoseph@riseup.net>
Sat, 16 May 2020 11:19:05 +0000 (16:49 +0530)
README.md

index a852de60762a1d7be983097157b0e51b2174b471..82dad57e3535dfd57ad8a6cca99437be527f1ac9 100644 (file)
--- a/README.md
+++ b/README.md
@@ -109,3 +109,22 @@ One-liner for compiling and running
 ```sh
 nim c -d:ssl -r src/nimcoon.nim 'nim lang'
 ```
+
+## Privacy
+
+To avoid storing your nimcoon searches in `zsh` history, run this command
+
+```sh
+setopt histignorespace
+```
+
+Then, add a space before typing nimcoon in the shell, like " nimcoon"
+
+```sh
+ nimcoon "this is private"
+```
+
+The same can be achieved in `bash` by setting an environment variable
+```sh
+export HISTCONTROL=ignoreboth
+```