emacsconf 2019: Add LSP support talk
authorJoseph Nuthalapati <njoseph@riseup.net>
Mon, 4 Nov 2019 14:14:04 +0000 (19:44 +0530)
committerJoseph Nuthalapati <njoseph@riseup.net>
Mon, 4 Nov 2019 14:19:27 +0000 (19:49 +0530)
Signed-off-by: Joseph Nuthalapati <njoseph@riseup.net>
content/posts/emacsconf-2019.md

index 8e10722a3ecf663831fb8c41b2c7931083da3511..31ebb6d85e15205bde1fb3df15c44a3ee2bf03bc 100644 (file)
@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 ---
 title: "EmacsConf 2019"
 date: 2019-11-03T15:40:09+05:30
-lastmod: 2019-11-03T15:40:09+05:30
+lastmod: 2019-11-04T15:40:09+05:30
 tags : [ "free-software", "emacs" ]
 categories : [ "conferences" ]
 layout: post
@@ -130,3 +130,17 @@ building a framework for doing ad-hoc text processing and piping using Emacs.
 The hard reality is that text processing using macros or Elisp is very slow as
 compared to using a Python or Perl script.
 
+### Language Server Protocol
+
+I've always imagined non-IDE editors like Emacs to be ideal for programming in
+scripting languages. I tried using Emacs for Scala or Java earlier, but always
+end up switching back to IntelliJ. I think the new LSP implementation for Java
+is a game-changer. Though I am not a big fan of Java, it is the open-source
+language that competes with Microsoft C# and has a lot of Apache projects
+written in it. Being able to use Emacs for Java programming with all the
+features of an IDE is definitely a big win for free software. Kotlin doesn't
+have LSP support yet. Maybe it's a conflict of interest for JetBrains.
+
+The conference had an excellent live-coding demonstration of LSP by Torstein
+Krause Johansen in his presentation titled "How Emacs became my awesome Java
+editing environment".